The Norfolk Historic Building Group (NHBG) was founded in 2000 to bring together people who enjoy and appreciate old buildings and want to learn more about them. The Group:
In 2013 NHBG published the findings of a historical and architectural study of Rural Schools, in partnership with Norfolk Record Office and University of East Anglia. The findings were published as Volume 5 of the Group’s Journal.
Two of Costessey’s schools: St Augustine RC and 1870 Board School
NHBG’s current project is the North Norfolk Pilgrimage Centre of Little Walsingham. After several years of surveying and recording, and documentary research, this project is being written up, with financial support from Norfolk and Norwich Archaeological Society.
- arranges winter talks and summer activities about churches and chapels, grand country houses, medieval guildhalls, schools and houses built in timber, flint, brick, and clay lump;
- publishes spring and summer newsletters for members;
- conducts research on houses and other buildings;
- offers opportunities for members to survey and study buildings;
- attracts funding for research and publications including Heritage Lottery and English Heritage;
- surveys houses at their owners’ request;
- maintains a data base of properties- over 300 reports currently
Walsingham buildings on the High Street including a fine roof post
In 2014 visits included Thompson College (left) and church and Forncett St Mary (right) - a complex house set in a stunning garden.
Winter lectures and summer activities are reported in NHBG's newsletters
To find out more about NHBG and about becoming a member go to membership.